Reading Sara Review: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko, by Scott Stambach

The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko, by Scott Stambach

the-invisible-life

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press (August 9, 2016)
Reading Sara Rating: 5/10

Eligible Rating

Reading Sara Review: The best part of The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko for me is that it is a completely unique book for me to read (so, a bit selfish, yes). If you have been following the blog, you know that I like to read a variety of books including young adult, fantasy, mystery, but mostly fiction (and historical fiction being my favorite). Even though this is fiction, I don’t know exactly how to categorize this one. I have heard references to it being somewhere in between The Fault in Our Stars and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

The book is a diary of sorts, written by Ivan Isaenko, a seventeen-year-old who has spent his entire life at Mazyr Hospital for Gravely Ill Children in Belarus because he was born with severe disabilities due to the Chernobyl disaster. His life is pretty simple, until a beautiful dying girl named Polina arrives at the Mazyr Hospital and changes everything.

Their story is sweet and complicated but gives life and meaning to Ivan.

I have read a lot of complaints about how the children with disabilities are depicted in this book, and many recommendations that if you have someone you love with cognitive disabilities that you will hate this book. I don’t think that Stambach glamorizes the facility in any way. I don’t think that he provides much sympathy either. The story is really about Ivan, who only has physical disabilities. His mind is sharp, clear, and brilliant. This is his story of falling in love.

I know that this review was pretty “meh” which is honestly how I felt about the book. I didn’t love it, I didn’t hate. It took me awhile to get through it because it was not particular fast-paced. A lot of people read it and loved it, so you might too!

Leave a Reply

