Reading Sara Review: The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon

The Sun is Also a Star,  by Nicola Yoon

the-sun-is-also-a-star

Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press (November 1, 2016)
Reading Sara Rating: 4/10

fates and furies rating

 

Reading Sara Review: I wanted to like this book, I really did. I thought Everything Everything was creative and beautiful. And there were sparks of that beauty in The Sun is Also a Star, but not enough to help me love it.

In this novel, Yoon follows Natasha and Daniel, teenagers whose lives are in the midst of change and challenge who have a chance meeting in New York City one day. We get both of their perspectives, we get their backstories, and we get to watch them fall in love as only teenagers can.

A lot of other people loved this book, and it has been on many “best of 2016” books. For me, it fell short of that. It was better than books like Eleanor & Park (which I tried to read years ago and couldn’t even finish), but as far as young adult love stories go, I think there are better ones out there.

My favorite parts of the book were the chapters in between the story that creatively told a piece that was missing – sometimes it was another character’s story, sometimes it was a scientific perspective on a topic that was brought it. It created a uniqueness that I haven’t seen in many other books and enjoyed it. But, if you are trying to make your way through 2016’s best books – I think you can skip this one.

Leave a Reply

