Book & Wine Wednesday! Reading Sara Review: The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, by Amy Schumer

books & wine wednesday IMAGE

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, by Amy Schumer

img_1130

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Gallery Books; 1 edition (August 16, 2016)
Reading Sara Rating: 8/10

Rating for Secret Wisdom

Reading Sara Review: Amy Schumer’s book was the perfect transition from summer into fall. She is hilariously self-deprecating in a non-depressing way but also tackles more serious topics such as gun control and rape. Every time that I read a book that makes me laugh out loud I am reminded how important it is to laugh – laugh at books, laugh with friends and laugh at ourselves. I feel like I say that after every funny book that I review. Perhaps it is just a good reminder that I need to read more funny books!

My favorite parts of the book by far were the excerpts from her teenage journals, which she added her current-day commentary. I love that she exposes herself in this way and is not afraid of where she began. I am horrified by my teenage journals, but it is a good reminder that we all had to start somewhere! And perhaps even if my journals are filled with junk and boy-craziness, it formed my love of writing, which is far more long term than anything I wrote.

What I took away from the book was the Amy Schumer works hard. She did not get to this fame without some falls, and she receives her fair share of criticism. I am sure that as readers we should take what famous people say in their books lightly (because it isn’t like we know them personally), but I thought her section about becoming famous and the money that came with that was fascinating. She sounds generous, appreciative of what she has received and continues to be silly. I love that.

Schumer’s book is not for the faint of heart. Some parts are graphic, and she is not afraid of her sexuality. I probably would not have recommended this book to my grandmother, but if you have seen Schumer’s comedy, you should know what to expect from this book. And I think you’ll love it if you usually laugh at her show.

Wine Recommendation: In Amy’s book, she outlines plans for her funeral (honestly, it sounds like a good party). She makes it quite clear what wine should be served. So when you pick up this book, I recommend picking up a bottle of one of Amy’s favorites!

White Option: Rombauer Chardonnay, which you can purchase for about $36 a bottle, and she describes as “oaky as shit!” So, if you like your Chardonnays to taste like your popcorn, you’ll love this one.You can take a look at the wine here.

Red Option: Opus One Cabernet, which comes with a hefty price tag. So you may want to plan a nice dinner around this bottle and not just sip it while reading. You can view purchasing options here.

 

Leave a Reply

