Reading Sara Review: A Certain Age, by Beatriz Williams

A Certain Age, by Beatriz Williams

a certain age

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (June 28, 2016)
Reading Sara Rating: 5/10

Eligible Rating

Reading Sara Review: Well, readers, I think I made a mistake with my first book of my Summer Reading Part 2 list. Maybe the mistake was reading two Beatriz Williams books in one summer? Perhaps I appreciate her stories more when I have a break from them? I’m not sure. Whatever the reason, this latest one from Williams missed the mark for me.

A Certain Age follows Theresa Marshall, a socialite in New York City in the 1920s who falls in love with the significantly younger man she is having an affair with, Captain Octavian Rofrano, who she obnoxiously calls “boyo.” Meanwhile, Mrs. Marshall’s brother falls in love with Miss Sophie Fortescue, a daughter of a rich inventor.

The book has a hint of mystery with some sort of trial occurring in the future that involves the Fortescue family – we only know this from a gossip column that pops up every couple of chapters. Both Sophie and Octavian are much younger than their suitors, and as any reader can imagine- form a friendship and attachment. I felt that this book was predictable but even worse, the characters were boring. Mrs. Marshall’s brother, Ox, was extremely two-dimensional. The story would have been much more interesting focusing around Mr. Fortescue’s life – or even Sophie’s sister – but they were just secondary characters.

I don’t always read books to like characters, but I do read them to understand their motives. I want to connect with them on some level. Mrs. Marshall sort of redeems herself at the end, but I never connected with her or her motives, so I am not even sure if she needed redeeming.

I am still a fan of Beatriz Williams, and will put another one of her books on a reading list next summer, I’m sure. But maybe I’ll just read one a summer for now on.

 

2 thoughts on “Reading Sara Review: A Certain Age, by Beatriz Williams

Leave a Reply

