Summer Reading (2016 Edition) Part 2

Summer Reading Part 2

poolside pic

Part of me cannot believe that it is mid-July! But the hot weather keeps reminding me that we are in the middle of summer.

I know that a lot of people read less in the summer because there is so much more going on in their lives. It varies for me – I go through phases where I would much rather binge watch Orange is the New Black than pick up a book. Or I would rather be outside, hiking or biking in the outdoors than laying around reading. Even when those times hit, I always come back to reading and still can devour books over the summer.

Why? It’s my escape. It’s my place to take time out from the terrible things happening in our world (especially these couple of weeks in the United States). It gives me an excuse to either step into history, to learn something new, or cry over characters that I come to think of as friends. And, if I am reading outside (like, by a pool for example), then I am not lazy, right? This is not to say that I want to be passive to the world around me – I want to do the best that I can to leave the world better than when I arrived. And one way that I try to do that is through sharing my love of reading with you. It keeps me going when I get texts, emails, and comments about people enjoying the blog – trust me, it makes all the difference in me wanting to continue writing. So, thank you!

I gave you my Summer Reading List Part 1 earlier this summer. I have been making my way through those six books (honestly, some with more pleasure than others). Full reviews of each of these are coming soon.

Before that happens, I am excited to give you some more great books to wrap up the summer with – and so you can hopefully read with me!

Part 1 Collage.jpg

Truly, Madly, Guilty by Liane Moriarty
Liane Moriarty’s stories are always full of surprise – and make the best summer beach reads. I love the characters and the mystery. I can’t wait for this one to come out at the end of July! Find the review here!

Lily and the Octopus, by Steven Rowley
A man and his best friend, Lily, his dog. I have heard great things about the audiobook – so may check that out! Update – find the review here! This is a great one!

You’ll Grow Out of It, by Jessi Klein
Jessi Klein is the head writer for Inside Amy Schumer – so I am pretty confident that this will be a laugh out loud while reading at the beach type of book.

Part 2 Collage

A Certain Age, by Beatriz Williams
You know how much I love reading Beatriz Williams in the summer. A few weeks ago, I devoured Along the Infinite Sea, and can’t wait to pick up a new one by her and be transported! Review can be found here

Barkskins, by Annie Proulx
This saga about the logging industry and the ecological impact peaked my interest from the moment that I first heard about it. I’m bound for the Olympic Peninsula outside Seattle soon and thinking that being among trees and nature (as well as a long plane ride) might make this the perfect vacation read. Update: tried to read this one, couldn’t get into it after 100 or so pages. Probably not going to finish. 

Radio Girls, by Sarah-Jane Stratford
I needed more than one historical fiction on my second summer reading list. Set in 1926, at the start of the BBC, a young woman gets a job on the radio. I am looking forward to some history lessons as well as being taken to a different time – the beginning of news.

I’m limiting this list to six books because I am not sure how many I will be able to read just this summer. If none of these peak your interest, other books that are high on my list right now are: Homegoing, by Yaa Gyasi; Vinegar Girl, by Anne Tyler; The Sea of Tranquility, by Katja Millay; Sleeping Giants, by Sylvain Neuvel; The Gene: An Intimate History, by Siddhartha Mukherjee; and The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, by Ken Liu.  I know, it’s a big list – and growing every day with new ones!

Have you read any of these yet? Read with me – let me know what books you love this summer! Is reading your escape too?

6 thoughts on “Summer Reading (2016 Edition) Part 2

Leave a Reply

