Reading Sara Review: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

a man called ove

Paperback: 368 pages

Publisher: Washington Square Press; Reprint edition (May 5, 2015)

Rating: 10/10 (yes, you read that right!) 

Rating for Americas First Daughter

Reading Sara Review: This is the book that I cannot stop talking about to everyone that I talk to about books (which is pretty much everyone I talk to in general). How did I not hear about this sooner? This is the most heartwarming story, a perfect summer paperback that will restore your faith in humanity. It is simple but emotional in all of the right ways.

Ove is by all accounts a total grump. He isn’t particularly friendly, does not like when people break rules, and just wants to be left alone to stick to his usual routine. However, a series of events, beginning with his new neighbors knocking over his mailbox when they are moving in, bring new people and experiences into his life – altering it forever. I will be thinking about Ove and his neighbors for years to come.

This is a story about Ove. But it is about community; it is about kindness, and purpose. It made me want to introduce myself to every single neighbor. It made me appreciate love, my family, the incredible community of friends that I have and hold close to my heart.

I can’t tell too much more of the plot without spoiling the fun of it. However, it is a quick read. And I am so glad that it came into my life. I have been texting with my mom for days about it. And now we both want to buy a Saab.

It has already been made into a film in Sweden. I am now on a hunt to find it here in the United States!

Seriously. Stop what you are reading and pick up this book. It filled my soul in a way that reminds me why I love reading.

Some favorite lines:

“Loving someone is like moving into a house,” Sonja used to say. “At first you fall in love with all the new things, amazed every morning that all this belongs to you, as if fearing that someone would suddenly come rushing in through the door to explain that a terrible mistake had been made, you weren’t actually supposed to live in a wonderful place like this. Then over the years the walls become weathered, the wood splinters here and there, and you start to love that house not so much because of all its perfection, but rather for its imperfections. You get to know all the nooks and crannies. How to avoid getting the key caught in the lock when it’s cold outside. Which of the floorboards flex slightly when one steps on them or exactly how to open the wardrobe doors without them creaking. These are the little secrets that make it your home.”

“And time is a curious thing. Most of us only live for the time that lies right ahead of us. A few days, weeks, years. One of the most painful moments in a person’s life probably comes with the insight that an age has been reached when there is more to look back on than ahead. And when time no longer lies ahead of one, other things have to be lived for. Memories, perhaps.”

4 thoughts on “Reading Sara Review: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Leave a Reply

