Reading Sara’s Favorite Love Stories

In honor of St. Valentine and this day of love that we celebrate every year on February 14, I have a love-themed post today. For those of us book lovers, we know that chocolate and roses are great (seriously, who would turn those down?), but we also appreciate some alone time to curl up with a book and get lost in the story. So, here are ten of my favorite love story related books, in no particular order. What are your favorites? Share with me!

IMG_0018 (1)

1. What best love story list would be complete without the ultimate love story? Pride and Prejudice, a Jane Austen classic (and not the only Austen book on my list today) is the original romance story with a happy ending (looking at your, Shakespeare). It is the base for almost every chick-flick movie – girl meets boy. Girl hates boy. The girl likes some other guy. Other guy turns out to be bad. The original guy turns out to be great (and super rich, and lives in a castle). Girl and guy realize that they do not hate each other and love each other. The end. Though Pride and Prejudice is so much better than that description that I just gave. Read it. And watch the BBC movie – so much love to celebrate.

2. Me Before You, by JoJo Moyes, is a modern day love story that will make you laugh and cry. When I finished this book, I read it again right away because I did not want to lose the characters from my life. Moyes is a brilliant storyteller. And, the movie comes out in June – so pick up the book first!

3. If you have not read A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams, it’s a perfect beach read that you will fly through – but one that you will still love and remember. It’s 1938 and socialites are vacationing in Rhode Island. Ex-boyfriends, ex-lovers, secrets and gossip all play out in a marvelous love story.

4. I have not read this book in a long time, and it is a remarkable book in many ways, but the star-crossed lovers story is what helped it get on this list. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is one of the most creative books, full of magic, mystery, and suspense that I have read in the past decade. Celia and Marco are illusionists, a part of a mysterious circus that pops up across the world unannounced. When the competition becomes deadly, they need to fight for their love against all odds…The Time Traveler’s Wife by

5. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is on almost every best romance list, and I will not disagree. It is a story about a love that conquers time, beats the challenges and is really, really hard – but worth it.

6.      Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon, is a serious love story – time traveling included. I do not know if I have written about my Outlander love on the blog yet, but either way, it is a great addition to your guilty-pleasure book list. And after you read it, I highly recommend getting together with a friend and watching the Starz show with a bottle (or two) of rose.

7.      Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson is so wonderful and full of love. I remember reading it and it being such an unexpected surprise. Not only are most wonderful romances set in England, but this one is about second chances and love after loss of life. Just thinking about this book makes me want to re-read it!

8.      The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion, is a light-hearted and fun love story. There is a short review of it posted here. It is predictable but cute and easy to appreciate. Especially for fans of the Big Bang Theory – you will enjoy this quirky love story.

9.      Princess Academy, by Shannon Hale, is a trilogy, definitely meant for young adults – and I am not ashamed to say that I found it so sweet. The story is about Miri, who lives in a small town in great kingdom where the prince will choose his bride from – which means that all girls of a certain age must attend an Academy to learn how to be ‘proper ladies.’ I won’t spoil it, but I will tell you that it is much more creative than the description will lead you to believe – and not nearly as certain (only parts). It’s a love story between friends, family and first loves – and it’s a quick fun book.

10.  Emma by Jane Austen is my final love-story related book that I recommend. Emma is full of charm, wit and delight. It is impossible for any girl not to fall in love with this story. It is absolutely my favorite Austen title, which is a difficult decision for an Austen-fan like me! After you read it, curl up with a loved one and re-watch Clueless!

 

Leave a Reply

