Reading Sara Review: Almost Famous Women: Stories, by Megan Mayhew Bergman

Almost Famous Women: Stories, by Megan Mayhew Bergman

almost famous women

Paperback: 256 pages

Publisher: Scribner; Reprint edition (July 14, 2015)

Rating: 7/10 – entertaining and fun book!

modern romance

This book was so much fun. I do not read a lot of short stories in general because I usually like to read things that I can sink my teeth into and dive deeper. But Bergman kept my interest with these short stories from the first to the last. I am so glad for the recommendation, and I hope you are too.

 
What I love about books like this is that you can read them in one afternoon or over multiple months. It’s a great book to read alongside something more serious, a nonfiction book or the next Gone Girl-type book. Each chapter contains a short vignette about a person (or persons, in a couple of cases), which have some historical relevance, but not quite enough for them to be household names. You will likely have heard of two or three of them, and if you are like me, you’ll end up googling several others to learn more about them.

 
It is a work of fiction, so the creative scenarios and dialogue are all in Bergman’s mind, but the way that it comes alive on the page, to the reader, make it possible. She adds depth and interest to the women that she explores in each story. I had favorite chapters and wished that she continued some more than others – but I loved the feeling of just getting a small piece of the puzzle, and allowing the reader’s imagination to take it further.

 

I recommended this book on my holiday gift guide post, and if you haven’t read it yet – add it to your list. Now that it is available in paperback, there are fewer excuses.

 

Also, that cover? Amazing! If you don’t trust my review, trust the cover!

Leave a Reply

