Reading Sara’s Fall TBR List

I love fall. I love getting out my boots again, wearing sweaters and the crisp air. Here in Colorado, we have beautiful fall colors as the Aspen trees change from green to gold. Here are a couple of beautiful fall mountain pictures from a few years ago near Crested Butte, Colorado.

fallfall2

Also in fall, I love to read. Summer books are wonderful too – but reading in the fall, curled under a blanket just feels good.

TBR stands for “To Read Books,” essentially a to-do list for book reading, utilized in the blog community (and honestly, maybe other communities as well – I might be out of the loop!).

I have some books that I am really excited about reading this fall, what about you? Again, I love summer books, but in the fall we can get more serious, read longer books, read books that make us laugh, and as the season changes, curl up with a blanket for some quality weekend reading.

After You (Me Before You #2), by JoJo Moyers
Expected Publication: September 25, 2015
Me Before You was the type of book that when I finished it, I immediately re-read it so that I could live with the characters longer. I was not ready to give them up. I found out last week that JoJo Moyers was writing a sequel, and tears pooled in my eyes. I am a fan of JoJo Moyers in general, and have loved many of her books, but Me Before You was a story that has stayed with me and I am so eager to go back to the people and the place and see the aftermath of some big decisions. Also, Me Before You is being made into a movie (with Daenerys Targaryen and Finnick Odair – great characters from Game of Thrones and Hunger Games coming together), so this just adds even more excitement!

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things, By Jenny Lawson
Expected Publication: September 25, 2015
I was not an original follower of Jenny Lawson’s blog, but when I discovered her first book I became a huge fan – it was one of those books that I pretty much forced on all of my friends. I am not sure I had ever laughed out loud as much when reading a book – I remember sitting on a beach in Georgia with friends reading Let’s Pretend this Never Happened, and laughing out loud enough that my friend Ashley turned to me asking “What on earth are you reading over there???” She read it shortly after and had similar stories of reading it on the train to work and getting perplexing stares from strangers as she laughed. I have high hopes for lots of laughter from Jenny Lawson’s second book!

Why Not Me? By Mindy Kaling
Expected Publication: September 15, 2015
This girl is hard working. She is a brilliant comedian, incredible fashonista and definitely someone that I want to be best friends with. I loved her first book and am super excited for her second.

A Brief History of Seven Killings, by Marlon James
Published in October 2014
This has been on my TBR list for awhile now, so I am committing to reading it this fall. It is a fictional exploration of the attempted assassination of Bob Marley . It is available in paperback, but still is over 700 pages – a great fall book to dive into!

The Fiery Cross, by Diana Gabaldon
Published in 2002
I have read the first four books of the Outlander Series (ok, maybe devoured is a better term than read). I needed a break after that, simply because there are too many books that I want to read and needed to read. But fall is a great time to get back into these and the fifth book is the next one for me. Again, not a short book, 1456 pages, so a great fall read.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream, by Hunter S. Thompson
I have spent the past week enjoying the beautiful views of Aspen, Colorado, and it has made me realize that I have not read a Hunter S. Thompson book. So, I thought I would start with one of the more famous ones, and fall seems like a great opportunity.

What other fall books are you excited about reading while watching the leaves change? What else do you recommend I add to my list?

2 thoughts on “Reading Sara’s Fall TBR List

Leave a Reply

