5 of Reading Sara’s Favorite Summer Books … that go well with wine!

books & wine wednesday IMAGE

Oops, had a little snafu posting this last night (it was my birthday, so I know you will forgive me for this being a day late!)

Today, August 5, is my birthday, which is why today’s post is going to be shorter and a little different than usual. But because it is my birthday and two of my favorite things are BOOKS and WINE, having a post today seems absolutely appropriate!

I am presenting 5 of my favorite summer-ish books today – all of which go well with a glass of wine on a hot August day! I hope you enjoy these summer reads!

Wine Recommendation: Before you get settled into the books, I recommend a white Vinho Verde. This Portuguese wine is the perfect August refresher because it has slight carbonation and is “young” (meaning do not age your Vinho Verde, drink it!). It is not as fizzy as champagne, but still gives the feeling of a celebration. It is light, refreshing and I know that you will love it sitting on your porch with a great book in hand!

Without further adieu, Reading Sara Summer Favorites

Lost Lake, by Sarah Addison Allen

lost lake

Rating: 4/5
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin (January 6, 2015)

Quick Overview: Everyone loves a second chance at love, and when widowed Kate goes to see her extended family at Lost Lake Cabins, you will watch her heal, learn to trust and redefine who she is and wants to be.

What Alice Forgot, by Liane Moriarty

what alice forgot

Rating: 4/5
Paperback: 488 pages
Publisher: Berkley Books; Reprint edition (April 24, 2012)

Quick Overview: What Alice Forgot was a fun story that I have thought back on many times after reading it. After finishing this, you will wonder, as I did, what it would be like to forget a large piece of your past. What lessons can we learn about forgiveness and love from Alice’s story? It ends happily, and is a quick and fun read that I highly recommend.

Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander-blue-cover-198x300

Rating: 4/5
Mass Market Paperback: 850 pages
Publisher: Dell; Reissue edition (June 2, 1992)

Quick Overview: This book is not a quick read. But it is a completely addictive and wonderful read. I have only finished the first five books – and had to take a break. However, I cannot wait to go back into the Outlander world with Claire Beauchamp Randall and Jamie Fraser. This time-traveling tale includes romance and action. I fell for Jamie Fraser quickly (even before watching the Starz series, which is also a must!). You will not want to put this semi-guilty pleasure book down, I promise.

A Hundred Summers, by Beatriz Williams

a hundred summers book

Rating: 4/5
Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Berkley; First Paperback Edition edition (April 1, 2014)

Quick Overview: A Hundred Summers is one of those perfect summer reads that I actually read again after finishing it a first time. It is light, it is romantic and there are mysteries to be solved. The chapters alternate between two time periods, and keep you in suspense about what went wrong between Lily and Nick – and how could Nick now be married to Budgie? You will find out, and enjoy this book as a fun summer treat like I did!

The Secret Life of Bees, by Sue Monk Kid

the secret life of bees

Rating: 5/5
Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: Penguin Books; 1st edition (January 28, 2003)

Quick Overview: If you have not read this book yet, please read it. I know it is over 10 years old now, but I still think of it when I think of some of my favorite summer books. It is a lovely coming of age story, with strong feminist overtones. I might even re-read it this summer just for fun!

Do you have favorite summer books that I missed here? Share them with me!

2 thoughts on “5 of Reading Sara’s Favorite Summer Books … that go well with wine!

Leave a Reply

